What is my Art Style?

Honestly, I have no idea! To top that off, all I want to do is create. Perhaps in some way, I am doing myself a disservice by not figuring out my style and working towards perfecting that. Here’s the thing, I’d get bored, I just know it. That much I know about myself. When I quit my job in 2017 to become a full-time artist, the first thing I did was pick up my acrylics. I worked with those for a while, I got bored and picked up my Prismacolour pencils, then I got bored and moved on to watercolours, then alcohol inks, then the next thing and it continued. It is now 2024 and I am collaging. So where has this led me to find my art style? I still cannot answer that. My style is ever-changing, mutating, learning, exploring, and most importantly the one thing I want and need to do is create.
There is a well-known figure of speech “A Jack of all trades is a master of none”. I have pondered this many times in association with my art, but what I didn’t realise is that it is not the full saying. It goes “A Jack of all trades is a master of none, but oftentimes better than master of one”. Instantly that changes from a negative to a positive and completely shifts your perspective, making you feel a little better about what you are doing. There is nothing worse than feeling like you are not good enough, that your skills do not get to mastery, and as for me, that I simply get bored.

So what is my style? My style is my journey. I create what I love, what is beautiful, and enjoy the process. When I get bored, I move on. I find the next creative spark to move me forward in my creative life. I learn new things and find comfort in those I know. I shift, I mutate, I explore, I learn, I get bored, and sometimes I find exactly what makes me happy to be a creative soul.

Categories UncategorizedTags , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close